Texas is a great state to become an ultrasound technician. The first step is completing an accredited training program.
Checkout this video:
In Texas, ultrasound technicians are known as diagnostic medical sonographers. They use special equipment to produce images of patients’ internal organs, which are then interpreted by physicians. If you’re interested in becoming an ultrasound tech in Texas, you’ll need to complete an accredited educational program and obtain a state license. Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to become an ultrasound tech in Texas.
Step 1: Complete an Accredited Educational Program
The first step to becoming an ultrasound tech in Texas is to complete an accredited educational program. There are several schools in Texas that offer accredited programs, including community colleges, technical schools, and four-year universities. Most programs take two to four years to complete and include coursework in anatomy, physiology, and medical ethics, as well as hands-on clinical training.
Step 2: Obtain a State License
After completing an accredited educational program, you’ll need to obtain a state license from the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS). To be eligible for a license, you must pass the DSHS-approved national certification exam administered by the American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS). Once you’ve passed the exam, you can apply for a license online through the DSHS website.
Step 3: Become Certified
Although certification is not required by the state of Texas, it may improve your employment prospects. The ARDMS offers several certification exams for ultrasound technicians at different levels of experience and expertise. To be eligible for most exams, you must have completed an accredited educational program and passed the national licensing exam.
What are the requirements to become an Ultrasound Technician in Texas?
In order to become an ultrasound technician in Texas, you will need to complete an accredited training program. You will also need to pass the Sonography Principles & Instrumentation exam and earn your RDMS credential. Once you have met these requirements, you will be eligible to apply for a state license.
In order to become an ultrasound technician in Texas, you need to have at least an Associate’s Degree in radiologic technology or a related field. Some jobs may require you to have a Bachelor’s Degree. You also need to be licensed by the Texas Medical Board.
Different states have different requirements for becoming an ultrasound technician, but in general, you will need to complete an accredited training program and earn a passing score on a national licensing exam. Some states also require continuing education credits to maintain your certification.
In Texas, the requirements are as follows:
You must complete an accredited training program. Programs typically take 1-2 years to complete and include classroom, laboratory, and clinical instruction.
You must pass the National Board of Medical ExaminersSonography Principles & Instrumentation (SPI) exam.
You must apply for certification through the American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS). Certification is valid for 4 years and can be renewed by completing continuing education credits or retesting.
How to become an Ultrasound Technician in Texas
If you want to become an ultrasound tech in Texas, you will need to complete a training program and pass a certification exam. There are many schools that offer training programs, and you can also find online programs. Once you have completed a training program, you will be eligible to take the certification exam.
Complete an accredited education program
To become an ultrasound technician in Texas, you must first complete an accredited education program. These programs are typically two-year Associate’s degree programs, although some may be four-year Bachelor’s degree programs. Once you have completed an accredited program, you will then need to pass the ARDMS SPI exam to become certified.
Pass the ARDMS SPI exam
All ultrasound technicians in Texas must become licensed by the Texas Department of Health. The first step in this process is to pass the American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography’s (ARDMS) SPI exam. To be eligible to sit for this exam, candidates must complete an accredited diagnostic medical sonography program and submit an application to the ARDMS.
The SPI exam is a computer-based, multiple-choice exam that covers four main content areas: Instrumentation, Patient Care, Physics and General Sonographic Principles. Candidates are given three hours to complete the exam, which consists of 170 questions. A passing score on the SPI exam is required in order to move on to the next step in the licensing process.
Job outlook for Ultrasound Technicians in Texas
Currently, there are over 5,000 ultrasound technicians employed in Texas and that number is expected to grow by over 28% in the next ten years. With a large aging Baby Boomer population, the demand for diagnostic imaging services is expected to continue to grow. In addition, as more and more physicians rely on ultrasound technology for both diagnosis and treatment, the demand for qualified ultrasound technicians will only increase.
When you have completed your accredited ultrasound technician program, you will need to obtain licensure from the Texas Department of Health. The requirements for licensure include passing the ARDMS national examination as well as a criminal background check. Once you have met all the requirements and have been licensed, you will be able to seek employment as an ultrasound technician in Texas.